Practical Philosophy


Why should people study Practical Philosophy?

  • In face of the ever-changing challenges in political, social, economic, technological, and cultural areas, talents equipped with both interdisciplinary knowledge and problem-solving skills will be in high demand in order to analyse information related to the complex and controversial issues in those areas;
  • Students will be given training in critical, logical and philosophical thinking that enable them to be an independent thinker, so that they are able to express their viewpoints with strong justifications and make rational judgments in everyday life.

What are the differences between “Practical Philosophy” and “Philosophy” programmes in general?

  • Whereas Philosophy is often regarded as a conceptual subject without much relation to practices, we constantly apply philosophical theories and concepts in our daily life. Unlike philosophy programmes in general which focus on studying philosophical texts and theories, ‘Practical Philosophy’ puts more emphasis on dealing with philosophical and ethical issues we encounter in our daily life with an interdisciplinary approach;
  • Apart from core courses on logical thinking and introduction to Philosophy, the curriculum also consists of courses in various philosophical domains, including Technology and the Future of Humanity, Bioethics and Society, Political Philosophy, Moral Philosophy and Moral Psychology. Studying philosophical theories and the recent interdisciplinary issues not only equips students with the mindset of a global citizen and open their international horizons, but also enhances their critical, creative and cross-discipline thinking abilities which help them to tackle social and ethical issues, and meet the needs of the future job market better.

Who should study this Concentration Studies? What will I learn from it?

  • This Concentration Studies is good for those who are interested in enhancing their analytical and critical thinking abilities on various political, social and ethical issues;
  • Students will be able to:
    • investigate into a diversity of philosophical issues from an interdisciplinary perspective;
    • analyse and solve complex problems using an evidence-based, objective and critical approach;
    • apply philosophical knowledge and utilise analytical skills in religious, social, political and cultural discussions, the discussions of traditional philosophical theories, as well as in their daily life.

Is there any further articulation pathway upon completion of the Concentration Studies? What are the career prospects in the future?

  • Graduates can choose to study bachelor’s degree in Religion, Philosophy, Humanities or any related programmes offered by local or overseas institutions. They may also apply for senior year places (year 3) of UGC-funded undergraduate programmes such as: HKBU (Religion, Philosophy and Ethics; Humanities; Creative and Professional Writing), CUHK, HKU, LU (Philosophy);
  • Graduates could be articulated to HKBU BA (Hons) in Liberal and Cultural Studies under the Seamless 4-year Admission Scheme (SFAS);
  • Graduates will be well equipped with good analytical, logical and communication skills that allow them to work in various related positions in education sector, arts and cultural, legal, media and commercial companies. They will be suitable to work as teaching assistant, research assistant at religious and cultural research centres, assistant human resources officer, assistant project officer at social welfare organisations and liaison officer II in government, etc.

Society and Wellness Studies


What are the differences between “Society and Wellness Studies” and “Health Studies” programmes in general?

  • “Health Studies” programmes generally put more emphasis on equipping students with generic knowledge of scientific research and health care while “Society and Wellness Studies” focuses more on interdisciplinary knowledge and skills including Sport and Recreation, Psychology, Nutritional Science, Neuroscience, Sociology, Counselling as well as Philosophy;
  • Upon completion of the programme, students will have learned the essentials of individual health, holistic well-being and basic health counseling skills. On this basis they will be able to apply their professional knowledge of healthy living to the promotion of wellness at both individual and community levels.

Who should study this Concentration Studies? Would students be expected to have taken any science-related subjects beforehand?

  • Those who are interested in studying Physical Education, Psychology, and Sociology subjects, and in particular those who would like to learn about the relationship between health and the society;
  • This Concentration Studies provides students with fundamental knowledge and theories in respect of health and wellness promotion. The programme allows students to choose the learning targets that suit their own interests and abilities. Everyone is welcome to apply to this Concentration Studies in spite of not having studied science subjects before.

What are the articulation opportunities upon completion of the Concentration Studies?

  • This Concentration Studies which covers a variety of areas in Social Sciences and Health Research provides graduates with an array of programme choices and a wider articulation pathway. They can pursue further studies to attain a degree from a local or overseas university in any Social Sciences related programmes, such as Health Education, Sports and Recreation, Psychology as well as Sociology;
  • Graduates can articulate to the Senior Year Places (Year 3) through the Non-JUPAS scheme to obtain a bachelor’s degree granted by UGC-funded local universities, which includes: HKBU (Sociology), CUHK (Community Health Practice; Psychology), HKU (Psychology; Sociology), CityU (Criminology and Sociology; Psychology), PolyU (Applied Ageing Studies and Service Management), EdUHK (Psychology), LU (Health and Social Service Management Stream);
  • Graduates may also apply for the HKBU self-funded undergraduate programmes including Sport and Recreation Leadership, Psychology and Social Policy;
  • Graduates could be articulated to HKBU BSocSc (Hons) in Psychology under the Seamless 4-year Admission Scheme (SFAS).

Apart from health services-related jobs, are there any other alternative job opportunities for graduates?

  • The demand for professionals in community works and health education has been rising greatly;
  • Graduates can pursue a variety of career opportunities in various sectors and industries such as health care, community health education, social enterprise, and sport and leisure management. They will be well-equipped and able to apply for positions such as: social welfare administrative officers or assistants, leisure services coordinators, teaching assistants, executive assistants, and liaison officer II.

实践哲学


为什么需要修读「实践哲学」?

  • 近年全球在政策、经济、科技及文化等层面不断出现巨大的转变,社会更渴求具跨学科知识而且有灵活思辨及应变力的人才,客观理性地去分析各种资讯及复杂、具争议性的问题;
  • 哲学教育让同学培养有系统和具条理的逻辑思维,同时装备同学探索复杂问题时的能力,以及训练同学能有条理地表达自己的论点、具备独立思考和自我反省等能力。

什么是实践哲学? 与一般的哲学课程有什么分别?

  • 哲学看似一门艰涩难懂、抽象深奥的学问,但其实哲学可以应用于日常生活当中。一般哲学课程会较偏重教授哲学概念和理论,涉及当今世代的议题与挑战的内容相对较少;
  • 「实践哲学」课程除逻辑及哲学入门等基础课程,亦同时包括科技与人类未来、生物伦理学、政治哲学、道德哲学及道德心理学等范畴。透过研习哲学理论及新近的跨学科课题,课程开拓同学宏观的国际视野,增强批判、创造及跨领域思维能力,并让他们学懂如何具体地把哲学理论实践在日常生活、学术研究及职场当中。

课程适合哪些人报读? 完成课程后,我可以学到什么?

  • 课程适合注重提升自己处理当代各种议题的分析能力与批判思考能力,对论证分析与逻辑有兴趣的同学修读;
  • 完成课程的同学将:
    • 有能力从跨学科角度,演绎多元哲学议题;
    • 以独立、注重实证及批判思维去分析、解决复杂疑难;
    • 将哲学知识及论证分析技巧,运用于探讨不同宗教、传统哲学理论、社会、政治及文化议题,以及个人生活中。

修读哲学,是否只有升学选择? 将来有什么就业机会?

  • 毕业生可选择在本地或海外大学完成宗教、哲学、人文学等相关学士学位课程。经非联招途径,毕业生可选择升读教资会资助高年级(三年级)学士学位课程,包括:浸大(宗教、哲学及伦理;人文学;创意及专业写作);中大、港大、岭大(哲学);
  • 同学可透过浸大「4年自资学位课程优先入学计划」,以「2+2」升学途径无缝衔接浸大「通识及文化研究文学士(荣誉)」学位课程;
  • 此专修毕业生因具备良好的逻辑分析和沟通能力,可选择从事教育、文化工作、法律、传媒、商界等行业, 包括教学助理、宗教及文化研究中心助理研究员、助理人力资源主任、助理社福机构项目主任、及政府二级联络主任等职位。

社会与健康研究


「社会与健康研究」与一般健康学课程有什么分别?

  • 一般健康学课程较着重科学研究及教授护理知识,而「社会与健康研究」课程设计独特、全面,跨学科教授运动及康乐学、心理学、营养科学、神经科学、社会学、辅导学、哲学等多个范畴的知识;
  • 完成课程后,同学将掌握到全人健康的概念和相关知识,以及基本健康辅导技巧,并有能力将专业知识从个人健康领域,广泛实践至社会层面。

此课程适合什么人报读? 是否要读过理科相关课程才可报读?

  • 课程欢迎所有对运动及康乐学、心理学、社会学等学科,以及对健康与社会之关系有兴趣的同学报读;
  • 课程结构以基础学术理论为起点,及后同学可按个人兴趣及专长,选择合适范畴作进阶研修。即使没有修读过任何理科相关学科之同学,亦可报读此课程。

完成课程后,有什么升学机会?

  • 课程涵盖多个社会科学及健康研究范畴,所以升学出路极广。毕业生可选择在本地或海外大学完成健康教育、运动及康乐学、心理学、社会学等相关社会科学学士学位课程;
  • 毕业生可经非联招途径,选择升读教资会资助高年级(三年级)学士学位,包括:浸大(社会学) 、中大(社区健康;心理学)、港大(心理学;社会学)、城大(犯罪学及社会学;心理学)、理大(应用老年学及服务管理)、教大(心理学)、岭大(健康及社会服务管理)等;
  • 毕业生亦可申请入读浸会大学运动及康乐领袖学、心理学、社会政策等自资学士学位课程;
  • 同学可透过浸大「4年自资学位课程优先入学计划」,以「2+2」升学途径无缝衔接浸大「心理学社会科学学士(荣誉)」学位课程。

除从事健康服务相关工作外,还有什么出路?

  • 社会对兼具社会运作及健康教育两方面知识的专业人才,需求日趋殷切;
  • 毕业生事业发展机会甚广,可选择从事健康教育、社会服务、社会企业、运动及康乐管理等行业,包括社福机构行政人员、社福机构项目主任、社区中心康体活动统筹主任、公共事务机构康体活动统筹主任、教学助理、医管局行政助理,及政府二级联络主任等。